Chronicle Books

$40.00

Cassatt

Mothers and Children
Judith A. Barter ; Mallory Farrugia
Mary Cassatt's tender and profound paintings redefined portraiture and broke down barriers for women in art—both as artists and as subjects. This collection focuses on Cassatt's insightful portrayal of women and children living their everyday l...
Full Description
DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO

Mary Cassatt's tender and profound paintings redefined portraiture and broke down barriers for women in art—both as artists and as subjects. This collection focuses on Cassatt's insightful portrayal of women and children living their everyday lives. Fifty magnificent images cover the scope of Cassatt's work, from her early interest in Japanese woodblocks all the way to her exploration of Modernist techniques. Two essays contextualize her as a pioneering female artist and as the American face of Impressionist painting.

• Captures the love between mothers and children
• A luminous, robust, and timely celebration of an artist with a unique legacy
• A meaningful gift book in a luxurious, textured case

Fans of The Private Lives of the Impressionists, In Montmartre, and Mary Cassatt: An American Impressionist in Paris will love this book.

Format: Hardcover
Pages: 120
Size: 9 X 12 V
Age Range: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: 10/01/2019
ISBN: 9781452169033
10/01/2019