FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS $25+

Chronicle Books

$24.95

Drop Dead Cute

By Ivan Vartanian
Usually ships within 2-3 business days.

Drop Dead Cute showcases the work of 10 cutting-edge female Japanese artists whose art combines the pop charge of Takashi Murakami and Yoshitomo Nara with a thrilling personal mixture of sweetness and power. This next wave of painters an... Full Description

DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO

Drop Dead Cute showcases the work of 10 cutting-edge female Japanese artists whose art combines the pop charge of Takashi Murakami and Yoshitomo Nara with a thrilling personal mixture of sweetness and power. This next wave of painters and illustrators from the red-hot Japanese art scene blend aspects of manga, anime, and traditional art with their own idiosyncratic visions to create work that is international in appeal yet uniquely Japanese. This gorgeous book features profiles of the artists based on fresh interviews, along with a generous survey of their art. Also including new work by pioneering art world superstar Yayoi Kusama that salutes these extraordinary young artists, Drop Dead Cute is a must-have for fans of Nara and Murakami, as well as anyone interested in contemporary art and pop culture.

 

Format: Paperback
Pages: 160
Size: 8-1/4 x 11-3/4
Age Range: color images throughout
Publication: 3/10/2005
ISBN: 9780811847087
Additional Info:
NULL
Ivan Vartanian is an author and editor specializing in drawing, photography, and design. He has been based in Tokyo since 1997.