High Spirits – Chronicle Books
FREE SHIPPING FOR PURCHASES MORE THAN $40
Skip to content

High Spirits

$12.99 Regular price
Unit price
per 
Camille Gomera-Tavarez
Pura Belpré Honor Book BEST OF THE YEAR Chicago Review of Books · Kirkus Publishers Weekly Flying Start High Spirits is a collection of eleven interconnected short stories from the Dominican diaspora, from debut a...
Full Description
DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO

Pura Belpré Honor Book

BEST OF THE YEAR
Chicago Review of Books · Kirkus

Publishers Weekly Flying Start

High Spirits is a collection of eleven interconnected short stories from the Dominican diaspora, from debut author Camille Gomera-Tavarez.

It is a book centered on one extended family – the Beléns – across multiple generations.

It is set in the fictional small town of Hidalpa – and Santo Domingo and Paterson and San Juan and Washington Heights too.

It is told in a style both utterly real and distinctly magical – and its stories explore machismo, mental health, family, and identity.

But most of all, High Spirits represents the first book from Camille Gomera-Tavarez, who takes her place as one of the most extraordinary new voices to emerge in years.

For fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Sandra Cisneros, Angie Cruz, and Yaa Gyasi

P R A I S E

★ “Authentic and immersive…A labor of love imbued with dedication to family.”
—Kirkus (starred)

★ “Deeply personal and relatable. Steeped in nostalgia and harsh but fierce love, this is a memorable family saga in its own right.”
—Booklist (starred)

★ “Full of vivid and poetic imagery… settings worthy of drinking in, and thematic material ripe for contemplation about identity, intergenerational memory, and patriarchy and toxic masculinity, Gomera-Tavarez’s soulfully crafted debut is a sensitive, intrinsically feminist work.”
—Publishers Weekly (starred)

“A magical and unflinching look at the Dominican Diaspora”
—Dominican Writers Association

Format: Paperback
Pages: 225
Size: 5.5 x 8.25
Publication Date: 10/10/2023
ISBN: 9781646142743
Camille Gomera-Tavarez is an Afro-Dominican writer, designer, and creative from New Jersey. She has a BFA in Graphic Design & Creative Writing from the Maryland Institute College of Art and is currently based in Philadelphia, PA. Her debut short story collection, High Spirits, received critical acclaim and was named a Pura Belpré Honor Book.

Author Residence: Philadelphia, PA

Recently Viewed

Availability