Free Shipping on Orders $25+

The Desert and the Cities Sing: Discovering Today's Israel

The Desert and the Cities Sing: Discovering Today's Israel

A Treasure Box

By Lin Arison, By Diana C. Stoll, Photographs by Neil Folberg


   Usually ships within 2-3 days
In this unique boxed set that includes photographs, films, books and more, the authors invite readers to explore Israel's fascinating, diverse, and complex culture. The Desert and Cities Sing celebrates world-renowned artists, educators, and innovators, and reveals the richness of a country many know only through front-page headlines.


• Four full color, beautifully designed books featuring: the arts; agriculture; food and entertainment; and education, technology, and enterprise

• A portfolio of 25 frameable photographs by Neil Folberg capturing Israel's landscapes

• Four documentary films on DVD, including the Academy Award®–winning Strangers No More

• A flash drive featuring animations about Israel's innovations

• A limited edition scarf crafted by one of Israel's boldest couturiers

• A map of Israel

Box 14¼ x 10½ x 3.5 in, envelope with 3 DVDs; hardcover book, 6¾ x 10 in, 116 pp, faux leather cover, interior pocket with DVD; three flexi-bound books, 7 x 7 in, 64 pp each; cloth-covered portfolio box, 13-3/8 x 9-3/8 in, 25 photographic prints; map: 8-1/2 x 12-1/2 in; 32GB USB; scarf, modal, 20 x 70 inches.

More Details

Publication: September 2016
ISBN: 9781452154251
Lin Arison is the author of Feast for the Senses: A Musical Odyssey in Umbria (Chronicle Books, 2010), which was selected for the J.P. Morgan Summer Reading List in 2010. Her previous publications include A Love Story in Mediterranean Israel (2002) and Travels with Van Gogh and the Impressionists (2007). Together with her late husband, Ted Arison, she cofounded the National Young Arts Foundation in 1981, and the New World Symphony Orchestra in 1987 with artistic director Michael Tilson Thomas. She divides her time between Miami and Israel.

Diana C. Stoll is a writer and editor who has guided and shaped dozens of publications for art publishers, major museums, and other cultural institutions. She is the coauthor of Feast for the Senses: A Musical Odyssey in Umbria (Chronicle Books, 2010).

Neil Folberg’s photographic monographs include And I Shall Dwell Among Them (1995), Celestial Nights (2013), and Serpent’s Chronicle (2013). He has collaborated with Lin Arison on three previous publications.

Related Products