FREE GROUND SHIPPING on orders $25+ | Order by December 5 for Holiday Delivery

Chronicle Books

$16.99

Black Girl Rising

By Brynne Barnes ; Illustrated by Tatyana Fazlalizadeh
This item will ship on publication date.
This enduring anthem for Black girls celebrates their power, potential, and brilliance—for themselves and for the world. You are a thousand curls unfurling in your hair. You are a thousand fists Full Description
DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO

This enduring anthem for Black girls celebrates their power, potential, and brilliance—for themselves and for the world.

You are a thousand curls

unfurling in your hair.

You are a thousand fists

standing proudly in air.

 

You are the song of swallows,

lifting sun as they sing—

breaking light with their beaks,

breaking sky with their wings . . .

Black girlhood is beautiful! In this deeply moving celebration and rallying cry, and in the face of the many messages that still work to convince Black girls that they should shrink themselves, hide their light, know their place, Brynne Barnes and Tatyana Fazlalizadeh reclaim that narrative: A Black girl’s place is everywhere, and her selfhood is everything she can dream it to be.

With poignant, poetic prose and striking, color-drenched illustrations, this empowering picture book centers the inherent worthiness and radiance of Black girls that is still far too often denied. A love letter to and for Black girls everywhere, Black Girl Rising alchemizes the sorrow and strength of the past into the brilliant gold of the future, sweeping young readers of all backgrounds into a lyrical exploration of what it means to be Black, female, and glorious. 

EMPOWERS AND INSPIRES SELF-LOVE: This uplifting anthem of Black brilliance shuts out invalidating messages and replaces them with unconditional assertions of Black girls’ rights to be loved, to be inspired, and to exist fully in their power. Everything about Black girls deserves to be seen and celebrated—and this picture book provides a welcome opportunity for readers of all ages to do so! 

MAKES A GREAT GIFT: From graduation to birthdays to other key milestones, this book makes a perfect present for consumers looking to celebrate, empower, and inspire the women in their lives—whether daughters, granddaughters, nieces, cousins, or friends.

EXCELLENT READ-ALOUD: Warm, loving sentiments paired with poetic prose and a light rhyme make this picture book a great choice to read aloud together at story time, bedtime, or any time. It’s sure to become a fast favorite and inspire countless moments of parent-child connection.

Perfect for:

  • Parents, grandparents, and caregivers
  • Teachers and librarians
  • Readers who loved Hair Love and Little Leaders
  • The vast #WeNeedDiverseBooks community
  • Anyone seeking books about Black joy, female empowerment, or Black history
  • Gift-givers looking for a unique and inspiring book for the girls (or women) in their lives
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 40
Size: 11 x 9 1/2 H
Age Range: 5 - 8 Years
Publication Date: 06/28/2022
ISBN: 9781452164878
Tatyana Fazlalizadeh is based in Brooklyn, New York, and is an artist, an activist, the creator of Stop Telling Women to Smile, and the illustrator of Libba: The Magnificent Musical Life of Elizabeth Cotten.

Brynne Barnes has colored the world with her pen writing stories, poetry, and music since earning her BS from the University of Michigan and MA from Eastern Michigan University. She has taught at several colleges and universities. Her picture books include the award-winning Colors of Me and Books Do Not Have Wings. She lives in Southfield, Michigan.