FREE GROUND SHIPPING on orders $25+

Chronicle Books

$22.95

A History of the World Through Body Parts

The Stories Behind the Organs, Appendages, Digits, and the Like Attached to (or Detached from) Famous Bodies
By Kathy Petras ; By Ross Petras
This item will ship on publication date.
A grab bag of historic spleens, chins, and more, this is your ultimate literary dissection of body parts throughout history!  From famous craniums to prominent breasts, ancient spleens and bound feet, this book will bring history to life...
Full Description
DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO

A grab bag of historic spleens, chins, and more, this is your ultimate literary dissection of body parts throughout history! 

From famous craniums to prominent breasts, ancient spleens and bound feet, this book will bring history to life in a whole new way. With their inimitable wit and probing intelligence, authors Kathy and Ross Petras look at the role the human body has played throughout history as each individual part becomes a jumping-off point for a wider look at the times. In far-ranging, quirky-yet-interrelated stories, learn about Charles II of Spain’s jaw and the repercussions of inbreeding, what Anne Boleyn’s heart says about the Crusades and the trend of dispersed burials, and what can be learned about Lady Xoc’s pierced tongue. A History of the World Through Body Parts is packed with fascinating little-known historical facts and anecdotes that will entertain, enlighten, and delight even the most well-read history buff.

BESTSELLING AUTHORS: Kathy and Ross Petras have authored the New York Times bestseller You’re Saying It Wrong and the hit calendar The 365 Stupidest Things Ever Said, now in its 24th year with over 4.8 million copies sold!

ENGAGING CONTENT: Packed with rich material told with a lively and humorous voice, take a trip through history in this unique, exciting way. 

QUIRKY HISTORY FANS REJOICE!: For fans of The Disappearing Spoon, Wicked Plants, The Violinist’s Thumb, The Sawbones Book and Strange Histories!

Perfect for:

  • History buffs and pop history fans
  • Father’s Day, birthday, and holiday shoppers
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 6 X 9 V
Publication Date: 08/30/2022
ISBN: 9781797202846
Kathryn & Ross Petras are a brother-and-sister writing team and authors of many word-oriented books like the New York Times bestseller You're Saying It Wrong, THAT DOESN'T MEAN WHAT YOU THINK IT MEANS, as well as Very Bad Poetry and Wretched Writing. They've also compiled a series of bestselling quote books like Age Doesn't Matter Unless You're a Cheese and It Always Seems Impossible Until It's Done, as well as the page-a-day calendar The 365 Stupidest Things Ever Said (now in its 24th year – with over 4.8 million copies sold) and its counterpart The 365 Smartest Things Ever Said. They also do a podcast, a sort of Car Talk about words, with NPR's KMUW called You're Saying It Wrong.