Chronicle Books

$14.99

AstroNuts Mission Two: The Water Planet

Jon Scieszka ; Steven Weinberg
AstroNuts Mission Two: The Water Planet is the second book in the laugh-out-loud series by children's literature legend Jon Scieszka.The book follows a new mission, where AstroWolf, LaserShark, SmartHawk, and StinkBug must find a ...
Full Description

“A high energy follow-up proving silly can still be smart.”
—Kirkus Reviews

DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO
REVIEWS
AstroNuts Mission Two: The Water Planet is the second book in the laugh-out-loud series by children's literature legend Jon Scieszka.

The book follows a new mission, where AstroWolf, LaserShark, SmartHawk, and StinkBug must find a planet fit for human life after we've finally made Earth unlivable.

After they splash-land on the Water Planet, they find power-hungry clams, a rebellious underwater force, and a world full of too-good-to-be-true. Can this aquatic world really be humans' new home? And why are these clams so eager to swap planets?

• Features full-color illustrations and an out-of-this-world book jacket
• A can't-put-it-down page-turner for reluctant readers
• Complete with how-to-draw pages in the back

AstroNuts Mission Two is full of laugh-out loud humor with a thoughtful commentary on the reality of climate change at the core of the story.

Eager and reluctant readers alike ages 8 to 12 years old will be over the moon about this visually groundbreaking read.

• Creatively illustrated, full-color action-packed space saga
• Perfect for fans of Dog Man, Big Nate, Wimpy Kid, and Captain Underpants
• Great gift for parents, grandparents, teachers, librarians, and educators who are looking to introduce STEM and environmental topics to children
• Add it the the shelf with books like The Bad Guys in Superbad by Aaron Blabey, The 104-Story Treehouse: Dental Dramas & Jokes Galore! by Andy Griffiths, and The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 228
Size: 6 x 8 V
Age Range: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: 08/25/2020
ISBN: 9781452171203
Additional Info:

Download Teacher Guide

08/25/2020

“The lovable aerospace animal assemblage returns in search of another hospitable planet for Earth’s inhabitants. . . . [Astronuts Mission Two] continues with all the same punchy puns and visual panache as its predecessor. Scieszka skillfully weaves in facts about climate change and environmental and social commentary into his jet-propelled zaniness, bringing a subtle undercurrent of relevance into a seemingly goofy tale. With its now-familiar collages utilizing a dazzling psychedelic array of color, the series will delight fans, although this volume is a fine jumping-in point for new readers as well. A high energy follow-up proving silly can still be smart.”
—Kirkus Reviews

"Graphs, anatomy charts, and infographics give the pictures and text a tongue-in-cheek gravitas that will have delighted readers returning for more. Weinberg’s use of collage is charming. . . [I]n true Scieszka style, the majority of the book is a joyful exploration of what he does best—make the known seem absurd and the absurd seem perfectly reasonable. A funny, ridiculous journey into space infused with a thoughtful ecological message."
—School Library Journal