FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Chronicle Books

$17.99

On Account of the Gum

By Adam Rex
Some in-stock items may be delayed. Learn more here.
On Account of the Gum is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas! Serious humor abounds in this story about one kid's hilarious misadventures with gum, and the cumulative buildup of stuf...
Full Description

★"Rex's work is always humorous, smart, and delightfully absurd, and this is no exception. The hand-painted text has beautiful artistry to it, but it’s also a tongue-tangling, deliciously metered, rhyming absurdist story that begs to be read aloud in classrooms, libraries, and homes. . . . [B]rilliantly detailed . . . the child’s expressions are masterpieces in and of themselves . . . Rex is king of the picture books. Consider this required reading."
—Booklist, starred review

DESCRIPTION
DETAILS
AUTHOR BIO
REVIEWS
On Account of the Gum is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas! 

Serious humor abounds in this story about one kid's hilarious misadventures with gum, and the cumulative buildup of stuff stuck in hair. 

From the madcap mind of Adam Rex comes a book about the improbable, downright bizarre remedies for a problem kids have faced since the creation of gum. 

• Features hilarious text with unexpected turns and fun rhymes
• Wacky suggestions make this prime for constant giggles and repeat reading
• Author Adam Rex has a funny, smart, and relatable style

How do you get gum out of your hair—a pair of scissors? Butter? The cat? Call your aunt, she'll know what to do. She doesn't? Try the fire department!

With each page turn, this situation—relatable to any family—grows stickier and more desperate.

• A wonderful blend of light wordplay, zany humor, and a timeless topic
• Perfect for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!
• Great gift for parents, grandparents, teachers, librarians, booksellers, and educators who are looking for a funny, relatable tale to read out loud
• Add it the the shelf with books like We Don't Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins, The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt, and The Bad Seed by Jory John
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 56
Size: 9 x 11
Age Range: 5 - 8 Years
Publication Date: 10/06/2020
ISBN: 9781452181547
Additional Info:

Download Activity Kit

Adam Rex is the author and illustrator of many beloved picture books and novels, including Nothing Rhymes with Orange, Why?, Unstoppable!, The True Meaning of Smekday (which was made into the major motion picture Home), and the New York Times bestseller Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich. He lives in Tucson, Arizona.

★"Rex's work is always humorous, smart, and delightfully absurd, and this is no exception. The hand-painted text has beautiful artistry to it, but it’s also a tongue-tangling, deliciously metered, rhyming absurdist story that begs to be read aloud in classrooms, libraries, and homes. . . . [B]rilliantly detailed . . . the child’s expressions are masterpieces in and of themselves . . . Rex is king of the picture books. Consider this required reading."
—Booklist, starred review

★"Conversational rhyme, cascading action, and dramatic page turns create a story of early-morning, get-ready-for-school chaos. Gum-wrapper endpaper illustrations collaged under a bubble gum–pink wash set the tone for escalating silliness . . . [On Account of the Gum is a] gloriously giggly tale glued together by a glob of very gooey gum."
—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Snappy second-person verse enumerates a family’s vain efforts to remove a blob of shocking pink bubblegum as Rex (Unstoppable) dreams up ever-grosser remedies for the hairy dilemma."
–Publishers Weekly

"[A]lready giggling audience[s will] burst into belly laughs."
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books